Literary junk food

Some times, I just want a burger…..medium rare with a thick slice of red onion, gooey cheese, salty fries on the side, and a big dill pickle.  I like to cook, and I like to eat.  Give me sushi, give me Thai curry, give me a rare filet with bearnaise, and I’m a happy guy.  But some times I just want that burger or an NYC grey water hot dog or a slice of pizza with pepperoni so greasy it can be sopped with a napkin.

At times, I need literary junk food too.  My recent reads have included Bellow, Roth, Camus, and McCarthy.  All are brilliant.  All are a dry aged rib eye with a good merlot.  Last week, I just wanted that literary cheeseburger.  My particular guilty pleasure is the fantasy genre; some swords, sorcery, heaving bodices, and the inevitable victory of good over seemingly insurmountable evil; all told with an excess of adjectives and adverbs.

To be certain, there are very talented writers in the fantasy genre.  Tolkien and LeGuin are excellent.  Most offerings though are inane drivel……the street vendor tacos of words or the super sized #3 combo meal at McBurgerWendyKing.  They’re delicious every now and then and probably make you stupider for having read them.

What’s your literary junk food?  Romance novels?  People magazine?  The Fox news website?

I’m Darren, and I write….and I eat.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Literary junk food

  1. Suzi says:

    vampire series – True Blood! Women’s mags: Cosmo, Red Book, Glamour, Marie Claire … if I didn’t read so many mags (I also subscribe to Psychology Today and Poets & Writers), I might get more writing done (or not)…great blog Darren 🙂

  2. Strat-O-Matic baseball (pre-divisions); Glee (i’m a Gleek) …

    I’m Charlie, I also write … and I eat … a lot … probably too much.

  3. Darren, swell as a usual. Hmmm…I’ve been known to read Stephanie Plum and Ann Rivers on occasion. And now I’m dying for a big fat cheeseburger.

  4. Rob says:

    If you are really looking for some solid, original fantasy, Patrick Rothfuss’ “Kingkiller” trilogy (of which two books are out) is pretty good.
    During our penultimate summer trip to Vermont we stopped at a cool used book store. I spotted a box of “Star Trek” paperbacks, with a sign offering the whole box for $20. I dropped the $20 and I’ve been wading through, in spare moments, ever since.

Leave a Reply

