The end

A year ago, I showed up at my first grad school residency with the beginning of a story about an unemployed, suicidal guy with serious mental health issues, a degenerative disease and a dead child.  I found out at that residency that I was required to do public readings.  Not really wanting to share a whole lot, I changed the character’s name from Darren to Finn and became a fiction writer. 

While this character certainly began as an alter ego, he quickly took on a life of his own.  Readers who know me well still seek commonalities.  In my evaluation after last semester, my mentor commented, “Darren’s love for this character is palpable.”  Lori read that and said, “It certainly is.”  She knows better than anyone that I have no small amount of ego.  However, Finn (my character) long ago stopped being a version of me. 

So, today I reached “the end” of Finn’s story…again.  I had written three previous endings.  I have a year to edit this thing so the ending may change again, but I doubt it.  The first endings I wrote ranged from downright hopeful to at least vague.  The great writer and teacher Jessica Anthony told me I had to find the central emotional question my character is trying to answer. 

The endings I previously wrote deliberately avoided that question.  They did so mostly because I do love this character.  I put him through hell.  He deserves a happy ending.   At almost exactly midnight last Thursday, I answered Finn’s central emotional question.  It was such an exciting moment that I emailed Lori and Jessica to tell them. 

Today, I reached “the end” again, and I killed Finn.  It isn’t the ending I want, but it is the right ending for the character who emerged on the page and the story he told.  It’s such a strange emotion.  I feel mournful for this guy, but I feel exultant that I think I told his story right.

Probably more than any other time, today I can say I’m Darren, and I’m a writer.

This entry was posted in writing. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The end

  1. Kelly Gamble says:

    Talk about a spoiler!
    Finn is a great character, and you did such an amazing job with this book.

  2. Rob Greene says:

    Darren, this is going to see like a chicken-and-egg thing, but you and Finn are worthy of each other. It takes a lot of courage to walk either gentleman’s trail.

    • Rob Greene says:

      And I hate that your goddamned POS WordPress blog doesn’t allow me to go back and change that “see” to “seem,” or just delete the whole thing and start again. Up yours, Leo.

  3. I don’t want you to kill him. . . Please say you’ll change your mind? I like Finn. He feels like he could be one of my friends.

  4. I look forward to reading this very much, somewhat frightened and totally intrigued. Good on ya’ …

    And then I read Atticus’ last line and smiled … some comic relief and obvious affection.

Leave a Reply

