Hockeyball…

The Bruins and Blackhawks are tied in game one while I write this.  I’ve lived in New England for six years.  In about 104 more, I’ll have lost my R’s and been accepted.  In the meantime, I have enjoyed the shit out of this unlikely cup run by the B’s.  Down three goals, in game seven, with eleven minutes to go, and win?  Get.  Out.

The BSW is up for going to a hockey or baseball game now and then.  She will even watch the occasional football game on TV.  She does not get obsessing or rooting on the home (or adopted) team.  I argue about the pinnacle of athletic achievement, and she points out that pinnacles in other professions like medicine or teaching matter more.  I can’t disagree.

What I will argue is that sports, particularly at the loftiest levels, can inspire and unite and bond.  I don’t know about curling.  I never watch curling.  I’m not sure it exists except every four years in the Olympics.  Come that time, I’ll cheer my guts out for a guy with a broom wearing red, white, and blue.  Am I a homer?  Absofuckinglutely.

I attended the winter games in Salt Lake City.  I wanted to be a part of the event in my hometown so I volunteered and ran a concession tent. (if you saw the ski jumping, there was a tent to the right of their landing.  That was mine!)  I met people from all over the world.  We talked and argued the right angle to hit turn two on the luge or who landed the better triple axel.  I was in a sports bar when the women’s hockey gold medal game was played between Canada and the U.S.  The bar was filled with Canadian tourists.  Canada won that game, and they bought us beers.

Sports are entertainment and diversion.  They’re also an escape and a metaphor.  I’ll never hit a 90 mile an hour fastball or push a big gear up Alp D’ huez.  I can, however, watch those who can and feel competitive and united with others who watch.

This NHL playoff season began with a horrific tragedy in Boston.  Is hockey really important in the greater order of things? No.  Yet, this cup run by the Bruins was probably a pretty good bandaid on a pulsing wound for many.

In 2001, my family and I were new to Denver.  Chase and I watched every game of the Avalanche cup run.  We made rituals.  It made us more connected to one another and to our new home.  We watched the subsequent “almost” years and were genuinely saddened that “our” team didn’t make it.

So, this Stanley Cup finals, I am in a different place, cheering on a different team, and my son passed away a few years ago.  I’ll watch and yell.  At some point I’ll probably wear my hat sideways.  I’ll definitely require we have grilled brats one night and beer butt chicken on another because all those were part of our rituals.  I’ll remember those times with my son, and I’ve reached the point, after these years, that they’ll bring me fond remembrance instead of sorrow.  Lori will be bemused, but she’ll indulge me and participate because she’s wicked awesome.

Are sports essential…probably not.  Are they important?  I would say yes.

This entry was posted in writing. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Hockeyball…

  1. charlieopera says:

    GREAT post. Sports are a bonding experience … no matter the sport … no matter the stakes … I’ve turned from football to hockey as my favorite sport … I never played hockey (except on my feet and one or two times when I made a fool out of myself and rollerskates) … i played football through high school into college … I love hockey more because of wonderful thing they do at the end of a playoff series after beating the shit out of one another … they shake hands … and they’re always gracious … and I’m hooked!

    • D.R. Leo says:

      Thanks, Charlie. I was an all American wrestler, ranked in the top 50 junior racquetball players in the country, ran a sub 3 hour marathon, was a Cat 3 bike racer, an expert class mountain bike racer, free solo’ed a 5.12, squatted 632 pounds at a body weight of 140, and some other crap. All of that is not to brag but to say with some expertise that world class athletes are phenomenal. The are a quantum leap ahead of us normal humans, and watching them is inherently joyful.

  2. Kat Leo says:

    I love this spew and I love curling too. I watched the world championships on Canadian TV while in Yuma. It was “sweeping” the whole of Canada and very exciting. Glad you are wearing your hat sideways and celebrating your times with your precious son, Chase. I will soon be celebrating my Don in the white water of the Middle Fork of the Salmon. I am pretty sure white water canoeing is a sport…Love you DR, Auntie Kat

    • D.R. Leo says:

      White water canoeing is a badass sport, Auntie. Go forth and shred, or rip or crank (or whatever verb they do), and celebrate every moment, for Don and for you. I’m not going to say my aunt is old, just well seasoned, but she’s running white water. That’s how we roll.

  3. jlclayton1 says:

    Great post, DRL. Go B’s! And it’s always fun when I start trouble with Charlie Stella regarding every/any NY team he roots for and you’ve got my back.

Leave a Reply

